Breaking News: Fourth Amendment Takes a Back Seat in U.S. Constitution

July 10, 2008 marks an important day in U.S. history. Today, President Bush signed the FISA Amendments Act of 2008 bill into law. The landmark decision, approved by the Senate with a vote of 69 to 28, permits the National Security Agency (NSA) to conduct “warrantless surveillance” of all United States citizens, even without probable cause. It also grants immunity to telecommunications companies from past and future lawsuits for cooperation with the NSA in spying domestic targets.

The new law is controversial, with most of its support coming from the Bush administration and Republicans. Mr. Bush said the vote “will protect the liberties of our citizens while maintaining the vital flow of intelligence.” On the other hand, opposition groups question the constitutionality of the new law, calling it a violation to the Fourth Amendment, which guards against unreasonable searches and seizures. Ironically, Democratic presidential nominee Barack Obama voted yes on the bill, a decision which many Democrats held firm in opposition. Senator Hilary Clinton voted against the bill, while John McCain did not vote.


To find out your state senators’ position on the bill, check out the vote summary page on the United States Senate website. 

What do YOU think? Are you willing to sacrifice your civil liberties, for the sake of national security, even without warrants or judicial approval? Whatever happened to checks and balances?

[Via The New York Times]

9 Responses to “Breaking News: Fourth Amendment Takes a Back Seat in U.S. Constitution”


  1. 1 hosting May 16, 2013 at 2:23 am

    Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was very lengthy) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I am still new to everything. Do you’ve any factors for newbie weblog writers? I would really value it.

  2. 2 Blast XL June 16, 2013 at 9:25 am

    Appreciating the time and energy you put into your website and in depth information you offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    old rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

  3. 3 Testostrong Reviews June 20, 2013 at 11:43 am

    Everything is very open with a really clear explanation of the challenges.

    It was truly informative. Your website is useful.

    Many thanks for sharing!

  4. 4 tonners July 3, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    If you remember the old dot matrix printers which churned
    out text noisily, you’ll especially appreciate the inkjet’s quiet production of high resolution text
    and graphics. The benefit of draft print mode is consumption of less ink.
    The print head is the most precise and the most active part of your printer.

  5. 5 Elke July 3, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    Excellent post. Keep writing such kind of info on your blog.

    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hey there, You’ve performed a great job. I’ll
    definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.

    I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  6. 6 Johnf416 August 30, 2014 at 10:19 am

    Good blog! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day! cedcedfbaeek

  7. 7 cell phone spy monitoring software September 26, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous websites forr about a year and amm concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I ccan impoirt all mmy wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  8. 8 prospect.Elo.me March 15, 2015 at 8:04 am

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually recognizse what youu aare talking about!

    Bookmarked. Please additionally discuss with my site =).
    We can have a hyperlink alternate agreement among us

  9. 9 Read More Here November 11, 2015 at 6:56 pm

    You need written content for your website and
    you need to distribute quality information on directories if you want to
    get noticed. When you’re established, you can take advantage of the signature
    box at the end of all your posts. It’s almost as if the prospect of web writing causes them to clam up or “get lazy” about
    doing what it takes to inform their prospects.


Leave a Reply

